Jump to main content
What are the teams for Ireland v England in the Summer Nations Series?

What are the teams for Ireland v England in the Summer Nations Series?

What are the teams for Ireland v England in the Summer Nations Series?

Keith Earls is set to become the ninth Ireland player to win 100 Test caps when they host England in the Summer Nations Series on Saturday.

Earls, who made his Ireland debut against Canada in November 2008, will follow in the footsteps of Brian O’Driscoll (133), Ronan O’Gara (128), Cian Healy (124), Rory Best (124), Johnny Sexton (113), Paul O’Connell (108), John Hayes (105) and Conor Murray (105).

The match with England will mark their second Summer Nations Series fixture, and the first meeting between the sides since Ireland secured the Guinness Six Nations Grand Slam in March.

Ireland team news

James Ryan will captain Ireland in the final home match before the Rugby World Cup, with Earls on the bench.

Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe make up the Ireland starting back three, with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose also set for their first appearances of the Summer Nations Series in midfield.

@autumnnationsseries🏉 “There’s real value in individual analysis” Together with @Sage we sat down with some iconic former players to hear how preparation is key💪 #SageInsights📈 #SummerNationsSeries #Ad♬ original sound – Summer Nations Series ⚡️

Leinster pair Ross Byrne and Jamison Gibson-Park start in the half-backs. In the pack, Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong start in the front row, with Tadhg Beirne joining Ryan – who captains Ireland for the eighth time on Saturday – in the second row.

Google Ad – 300×250

Peter O’Mahony starts at blindside flanker, with Josh van der Flier at openside and Cian Prendergast set for his first Ireland start at number eight.

Ireland: 15, Hugo Keenan, 14. Mack Hansen, 13, Garry Ringrose, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. James Lowe, 10. Ross Byrne, 9. Jamison Gibson-Park, 1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Tadhg Beirne, 5. James Ryan, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Cian Prenergast.

Replacements: 16. Rob Herring, 17. Jeremy Loughman, 18. Finlay Bealham, 19. Joe McCarthy, 20. Caelan Doris, 21. Conor Murray, 22. Jack Crowley, 23. Keith Earls

England team news

George Ford will make his first Test start in two years, while Courtney Lawes will captain an England side with six changes to the starting XV.

Owen Farrell won’t feature due to the ongoing disciplinary process surrounding his red card against Wales last weekend.

In the front row, loosehead prop Genge is one of two changes to the forward pack, having won his 50th cap from the bench last Saturday. He is joined by Will Stuart on the tighthead and Jamie George at hooker.

David Ribbans, back in the side having successfully completed his return to play protocol, partners Maro Itoje in the second row. There is an unchanged back row, while Ben Youngs and Ford are named in the half-back births in what will be the 61st time the pair have started a Test match together.

Manu Tuilagi starts his first game of the Summer Nations Series at inside centre, partnering Joe Marchant at 13. In the back three, Anthony Watson is named on the right wing with Elliot Daly on the left and Freddie Steward at full-back.

England: 15. Freddie Steward, 14. Anthony Watson, 13. Joe Marchant, 12. Manu Tuilagi, 11. Elliot Daly, 10. George Ford, 9. Ben Youngs, 1. Ellis Genge, 2. Jamie George, 3. Will Stuart, 4. Maro Itoje, 5. David Ribbans, 6. Courtney Lawes, 7. Ben Earl, 8. Billy Vunipola

Replacements: 16. Theo Dan, 17. Joe Marler, 18. Kyle Sinckler, 19. Ollie Chessum, 20. Jack Willis, 21. Danny Care, 22. Marcus Smith, 23. Ollie Lawrence

Previous Story Introducing: Manie Libbok
Next Story Five talking points from Scotland’s Rugby World Cup Squad

More News

Fiji v England

Smart Ball insights from Round 4 of the Summer Nations...

1st Sep 2023
What are the teams for Ireland v England in the Summer Nations Series?

Choose your Breitling #DefiningMoment of the Series 

1st Sep 2023
Choose Your Sage Play of the Series

Choose your Sage Play of the Series

30th Aug 2023