Jump to main content
What are the teams for Wales v South Africa in the Summer Nations Series?

What are the teams for Wales v South Africa in the Summer Nations Series?

What are the teams for Wales v South Africa in the Summer Nations Series?

Wales conclude their Summer Nations Series campaign with an intriguing contest against defending world champions South Africa.

Warren Gatland’s side finished one from two in their home-and-away fixtures against England, and now face the Springboks for the first time since their 2-1 away series defeat last summer.

With Gatland set to name his 33-man final squad on Monday, Saturday serves as the final chance for some of the fringe players to put their name forward for the World Cup voyage to France.

South Africa, meanwhile, arrived in the northern hemisphere on Saturday, with a week to prepare for the Principality Stadium clash.

They then conclude their preparations with a tasty-looking fixture against New Zealand on Friday 25th August, looking to avenge their 35-20 defeat suffered in July’s Rugby Championship fixture.

Wales team news

Google Ad – 300×250

Cai Evans will make his Wales debut as a late stand-in for Liam Williams.

Evans, who plies his club rugby for the Dragons, stands in for Williams who after suffering from a tight hamstring has been withdrawn as a precaution, as has Dan Biggar due to back irritation.

Elsewhere, Alex Cuthbert, Johnny Williams and Kieran Hardy all make their first appearances of the summer.

Wing Cuthbert and centre Williams have returned from injury to start, while Hardy is given the nod after withdrawing from the second England clash due to family reasons.

Jac Morgan is named as captain for the second time in the Summer Nations Series, suggesting he is a strong candidate to lead the team in France.

Elsewhere, Taine Basham has passed Head Injury Assessment protocols to make the bench, where he finds the uncapped Teddy Williams and Cai Evans for company.#

Wing Rio Dyer, centre Mason Grady and fly-half Sam Costelow complete the backs.

Hooker Elliot Dee starts his first match this month and will pack down alongside props Corey Domachowski and Keiron Assiratti who will win their second caps.

Ben Carter and Will Rowlands form the engine room, while Dan Lydiate and Aaron Wainwright join skipper Morgan in a back row packed with power.

Nicky Smith and Tomos Williams offer experience from the replacements bench, while Sam Parry, Henry Thomas and Max Llewellyn will all be looking to make the most of a potential late cameo.

Wales XV to face South Africa

15. Cai Evans, 14. Alex Cuthbert, 13. Mason Grady, 12. Johnny Williams, 11. Rio Dyer, 10. Sam Costelow, 9. Kieran Hardy, 1. Corey Domachowski, 2. Elliot Dee, 3. Keiron Assiratti, 4. Ben Carter, 5. Will Rowlands, 6. Dan Lydiate, 7. Jac Morgan (C), 8. Aaron Wainwright.


16. Sam Parry, 17. Nicky Smith, 18. Henry Thomas, 19. Teddy Williams, 20. Taine Basham, 21. Tomos Williams, 22. Max Llewellyn, 23. Tom Rogers.

South Africa team news

The Springboks have been boosted by the return of talismanic leader Siya Kolisi for their penultimate World Cup warm-up fixture.

Flanker Kolisi had been a doubt for the 2023 tournament after suffering a partial tear to his anterior cruciate ligament in his knee in April, but he has won the race to make his second World Cup.

South Africa’s final squad is expected to look similar to the one that conquered the world four years ago, and there are a host of familiar names in their line-up for the weekend.

The team features the reuniting of front row Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe and Malcolm Marx for the second time this season, while the Munster lock duo of Jean Kleyn and RG Snyman start together in the famous green jersey for the first time.

Kolisi joins Pieter-Steph du Toit and Jasper Wiese in the back row, reforming a combination that last appeared against Ireland in November.

In the backline, Jaden Hendrikse makes his first Test appearance of the year alongside Manie Libbok in the half-back positions.

Cheslin Kolbe and Canan Moodie start on the wing, with Willie le Roux at full-back and Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel in the midfield.

Nienaber has opted for a six-two split on the bench, with forwards Bongi Mbonambi, Ox Nche, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Marco van Staden and Duane Vermeulen boasting 269 caps between them.

They are joined by backs Grant Williams and Damian Willemse, with the latter closing in on 50 points for his country.

South Africa XV to face Wales

15. Willie le Roux, 14. Canan Moodie, 13. Jesse Kriel, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Manie Libbok, 9. Jaden Hendrikse, 1. Steven Kitshoff, 2. Malcolm Marx, 3. Frans Malherbe, 4. Jean Kleyn, 5. RG Snyman, 6. Siya Kolisi (C), 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8. Jasper Wiese.


16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Ox Nche, 18. Vincent Koch, 19. Franco Mostert, 20. Marco van Staden, 21. Duane Vermeulen, 22. Grant Williams, 23. Damian Willemse


Previous Story Form guide: South Africa
Next Story Smart Ball insights from Round 2 of the Summer Nations Series

More News

Fiji v England

Smart Ball insights from Round 4 of the Summer Nations...

1st Sep 2023
What are the teams for Wales v South Africa in the Summer Nations Series?

Choose your Breitling #DefiningMoment of the Series 

1st Sep 2023
Choose Your Sage Play of the Series

Choose your Sage Play of the Series

30th Aug 2023