Jump to main content
What are the teams for Scotland v France in the Summer Nations Series?

What are the teams for Scotland v France in the Summer Nations Series?


France will begin preparation for a home World Cup when they play their first game of the Summer Nations Series against Scotland. 

The teams will collide twice in the space of seven days, with the first match set to take place at Scottish Gas Murrayfield on Saturday. 

Gregor Townsend’s side beat Italy 25-13 in their opening game of the Summer Nations Series, but they can expect an even tougher test against the 2022 Guinness Six Nations Champions. 

Scotland fell to a 32-21 defeat when these two sides last met, so let’s take a closer look at how they will set up this time around. 


Finn Russell will captain his country for the first time when Scotland welcome France to Edinburgh. 

Darcy Graham and Matt Fagerson are the only Scotland players to retain their place in the starting XV from the win against Italy, with Townsend making 13 changes to his side. 

Google Ad – 300×250

Ben White and Russell come into the starting team at half-back, with Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones linking up in the centres. 

Duhan van der Merwe and Blair Kinghorn complete the back three, with Pierre Schoeman, Ewan Ashman and Zander Fagerson making up the front row. 

Richie Gray and Grant Gilchrist start in the engine room, while Hamish Watson and Jack Dempsey complete the back row. 

Scotland team to play France

15. Blair Kinghorn, 14. Darcy Graham, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Sione Tuipulotu 

11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Ben White; 1. Pierre Schoeman, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Zander Fagerson, 4. Richie

Gray, 5. Grant Gilchrist, 6. Matt Fagerson, 7. Hamish Watson, 8. Jack Dempsey  


16. Dave Cherry, 17. Jamie Bhatti, 18. WP Nel, 19. Scott Cummings, 20. Rory Darge, 21. George Horne, 22. Cameron Redpath, 23. Ollie Smith 


Fabien Galthié has named his starting XV for France’s opening game of the Summer Nations Series against Scotland.

The back three is comprised of captain Brice Dulin at full-back, Louis Bielle-Biarrey on one wing, and Ethan Dumortier on the other.

Baptiste Couilloud will start at nine alongside fly-half Matthieu Jalibert, and in the centres, Emilien Gailleton will partner Yoram Moefana.

Jean-Baptiste Gros, Pierre Bourgarit and Demba Bamba make up the front row, with Cameron Woki and Bastien Chalureau linking up in the engine room.

In the back row, Paul Boudehent and Sekou Macalou start on the flanks, with Yoan Tanga set to win his fourth cap at No.8.

France team to play Scotland 

15 Brice Dulin (c), 14 Louis Bielle-Biarrey, 13 Emilien Gailleton, 12 Yoram Moefana, 11 Ethan Dumortier, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Baptiste Couilloud; 1 Jean-Baptiste Gros, 2 Pierre Bourgarit, 3 Demba Bamba, 4 Cameron Woki, 5 Bastien Chalureau, 6 Paul Boudehent, 7 Sekou Macalou, 8 Yoan Tanga


16 Mauvaka Peato, 17 Wardi Réda, 18 Falatea Sipili, 19 Paul Willemse, 20 Dylan Cretin, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Antoine Hastoy, 23 Arthur Vincent

Previous Story Smart Ball insights from the Summer Nations Series
Next Story What are the teams for Wales v England in the Summer Nations Series?

More News

Fiji v England

Smart Ball insights from Round 4 of the Summer Nations...

1st Sep 2023
What are the teams for Scotland v France in the Summer Nations Series?

Choose your Breitling #DefiningMoment of the Series 

1st Sep 2023
Choose Your Sage Play of the Series

Choose your Sage Play of the Series

30th Aug 2023