Jump to main content
Everything you need to know about the Summer Nations Series

Everything you need to know about the Summer Nations Series

Everything you need to know about the Summer Nations Series

The Summer Nations Series will see 12 teams face off in 15 matches over the course of five weeks as teams ramp up their preparations for the Rugby World Cup.

Grand Slam champions Ireland will play three games in Dublin as they look to consolidate their position as the world’s number one side.

Andy Farrell’s team will take on Italy, England and Samoa in successive weeks to reach peak form in time for their World Cup opener against Romania in Bordeaux.

The action all kicks off on July 29th when Scotland welcome Italy to BT Murrayfield, four months after the two teams played out a thriller on Super Saturday in the Guinness Six Nations.

Blair Kinghorn was the hero that day, completing his hat-trick with a length-of-the-field score in the final play as Italy pressed for victory.

Gregor Townsend’s men will follow that up with a home-and-home series against France, welcoming Les Bleus to Edinburgh before travelling to Saint-Etienne a week later.

Scotland’s fourth and final game will come in the last round of games on August 26th, when they play host to Georgia – one of five matches on a blockbuster weekend.

Round 4 will also see Eddie Jones back in Europe with Australia for the first time, as his Wallabies take on France at the Stade de France.

Google Ad – 300×250

That will be Les Bleus’ final game before hosting the World Cup, a week after a tantalising clash with Fiji in Nantes.

For many players, the early matches in the Summer Nations Series will be their last chance to impress their national coaches before final selection for the World Cup.

After Scotland take on Italy in the opening game, three games a week later could have a huge bearing on who makes it to France.

In addition to Ireland-Italy and Scotland-France, one of the game’s oldest rivalries will be reignited as England travel to Cardiff to take on Wales – the first of two meetings between the sides.

Then in Round 3, South Africa and Romania join the party, the Springboks taking on Wales, while the Oaks head to Italy.

The Azzurri will then close out their Summer Nations Series against Japan in Treviso, the Brave Blossoms the 12th and final team involved in the competition.

So with five weeks of thrilling rugby, and 15 cracking games to look forward to, there will be something for everyone in the Summer Nations Series.

And for those who are keen to watch these games, fans in the UK will be able to see every fixture live on Amazon Prime.

Previous Story Win Summer Nations Series tickets!
Next Story Southern Hemisphere sides gear up for 2023 Rugby Championship

More News

Fiji v England

Smart Ball insights from Round 4 of the Summer Nations...

1st Sep 2023
Everything you need to know about the Summer Nations Series

Choose your Breitling #DefiningMoment of the Series 

1st Sep 2023
Choose Your Sage Play of the Series

Choose your Sage Play of the Series

30th Aug 2023