Jump to main content
What are the teams for Ireland against Australia?

What are the teams for Ireland against Australia?

Johnny Sexton Ireland

Ireland will look to close out their Autumn Nations Series campaign with a third win and Andy Farrell has named a strong side to take on Australia in Dublin.

Fresh from a 35-17 victory over Fiji, Farrell has made eight changes, including a return for skipper Johnny Sexton at fly-half.

The Wallabies, meanwhile, have made ten changes from the team that was beaten by Italy in Florence, as they look to bonce back from successive one-point defeats.

Ireland change eight for final Test of the year

Farrell has rung the changes for the clash at the Aviva Stadium against the Wallabies with Hugo Keenan returning to the side at full-back as Jimmy O’Brien shifts to the wing.

Garry Ringrose slots in at outside centre for the injured Robbie Henshaw, while Sexton captains the side from fly-half as he takes over from Joey Carbery.

Up front, Andrew Porter and Dan Sheehan return to the front row alongside last Saturday’s skipper Tadhg Furlong, with James Ryan back in the second row.

And in the back row, Peter O’Mahony and Josh van der Flier start on the flanks, with Caelan Doris moving to No.8.

Google Ad – 300×250

On the bench, Leinster second row Joe McCarthy could make his debut for Ireland, while Bundee Aki makes his return and Jack Crowley is in line for his second cap after getting a first opportunity last weekend.

Rennie rings the changes after Italy loss

Dave Rennie has made widespread changes to his Australia team as they look to bounce back from a first-ever defeat to Italy last time out.

The Wallabies have played three successive matches that have been decided by a single point, edging past Scotland before losing in France and Italy.

And following the loss to the Azzurri, Rennie has brought back a number of his key men, including captain James Slipper, who will start in the front row alongside Dave Porecki and Allan Alaalatoa, the only starter in the pack from last week who keeps his spot.

Nick Frost and Cadeyrn Neville combine in the second row, while Michael Hooper, Jed Holloway and Rob Valetini get the nod in the back row, as they did in Paris two weeks ago.

In fact, this team bears a greater resemblance to the one that narrowly missed out at the Stade de France, with Nic White and Bernard Foley again starting in the half-backs.

Hunter Paisami and Len Ikitau keep their spots in the centres after their efforts in Florence, while Mark Nawaqanitawase gets another chance on the wing, alongside Tom Wright and Andrew Kellaway, who shifts to full-back.

On the bench, Rennie will be hoping for big contributions from the likes of Taniela Tupou and Will Skelton, the latter having enjoyed great success against Leinster at club level in recent seasons.


Ireland: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Mack Hansen, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Jimmy O’Brien, 10 Johnny Sexton (captain), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 1 Andrew Porter, 2 Dan Sheehan, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 5 James Ryan, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 7 Josh van der Flier, 8 Caelan Doris

Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Joe McCarthy, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Craig Casey, 22 Jack Crowley, 23 Bundee Aki

Australia: 15 Andrew Kellaway, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nic White, 1 James Slipper (captain), 2 Dave Porecki, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 4 Nick Frost, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 6 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper, 8 Rob Valetini

Replacements: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Noah Lolesio, 23 Jordan Petaia


Previous Story Sexton challenge excites Foley as Australia prepare for Ireland
Next Story What are the teams for Italy v South Africa?

More News

Try of the Series

Vote for the Autumn Nations Series Try of the Series

2nd Dec 2022
Smart ball insights autumn

Smart Ball insights from the Autumn Nations Series

2nd Dec 2022
What are the teams for Ireland against Australia?

Team of the Autumn Nations Series revealed

1st Dec 2022