Jump to main content
What are the teams for Wales v New Zealand? 

What are the teams for Wales v New Zealand? 

Alun Wyn Jones and Adam Beard tackle Samuel Whitelock

Wales take on New Zealand in Round 1 of the Autumn Nations Series this Saturday looking to defeat the All Blacks for the first time since 1953.

New Zealand had an enjoyable afternoon at the Principality Stadium in last year’s edition of the Autumn Nations Series, with Beauden Barrett inspiring them to a 54-16 win on his 100th Test cap, the most points they had ever scored in Wales.

This year’s rendition between the two sides kicks off at 3:15pm on Saturday, with Wayne Barnes refereeing his 100th Test match.

Tipuric leads Wales out as Owens and Halfpenny return 

Wayne Pivac has called back on some familiar faces, with hooker Ken Owens and full-back Leigh Halfpenny both returning to the starting XV for the first time in over a year.

Gareth Anscombe is named as fly-half in the absence of the injured Dan Biggar, following his heroics in South Africa in the summer, while Rio Dyer is set to make his Test debut on the left wing.

In the forwards, captain Justin Tipuric starts at blindside flanker, joined by Tommy Reffell, who starred in the recent series in South Africa, with experienced No.8 Taulupe Faletau completing the back row.

Google Ad – 300×250

Alun Wyn Jones is set to make his 154th Wales cap from the bench, joined by youngster Christ Tshiunza and Rhys Priestland.

Whitelock leads All Blacks in place of injured Cane 

Sam Whitelock will lead out New Zealand in Cardiff following the injury to Sam Cane in the All Blacks’ 38-31 victory over Japan last Saturday, with Dalton Papali’i starting at openside flanker.

Whitelock is joined in the second row by Scott Barrett after Brodie Retallick’s suspension rules him out of the first two matches of the Autumn Nations Series.

He is just one of three Barrett brothers to start, with Beauden and Jordie named at full-back and inside centre respectively.

Caleb Clarke and Sevu Reece start on the wing, while the top try scorer in the Rugby Championship, Samisoni Taukei’aho is on the bench, with Codie Taylor wearing the No.2 jersey.

Wales team to face New Zealand: 15. Leigh Halfpenny, 14. Louis Rees-Zammit, 13. George North,12. Nick Tompkins, 11. Rio Dyer, 10. Gareth Anscombe, 9. Tomos Williams, 1. Gareth Thomas,2. Ken Owens, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Will Rowlands, 5. Adam Beard, 6. Justin Tipuric (C), 7. Tommy Reffell, 8. Taulupe Faletau

Replacements: 16. Ryan Elias, 17. Nicky Smith, 18. Dillon Lews, 19. Alun Wyn Jones, 20. Christ Tshiunza, 21. Kieran Hardy, 22. Rhys Priestland, 23. Owen Watkin

New Zealand team to face Wales: 15. Beauden Barrett, 14. Sevu Reece, 13. Rieko Ioane, 12. Jordie Barrett, 11. Caleb Clarke, 10. Richie Mo’unga, 9. Aaron Smith, 1. Ethan de Groot, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Tyrel Lomax, 4. Sam Whitelock (C), 5. Scott Barrett, 6. Shannon Frizell, 7. Dalton Papali’i, 8. Ardie Savea.

Replacements: 16. Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17. Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18. Fletcher Newell, 19. Tupou Vaa’i, 20. Akira Ioane, 21. Brad Weber, 22. David Havili, 23. Anton Lienert-Brown.


Previous Story The Big Interview: Antoine Dupont on captaincy, the Autumn Nations Series and World Player of the Year
Next Story Power Rankings: Our top five southern hemisphere centres

More News

Try of the Series

Vote for the Autumn Nations Series Try of the Series

2nd Dec 2022
Smart ball insights autumn

Smart Ball insights from the Autumn Nations Series

2nd Dec 2022
What are the teams for Wales v New Zealand? 

Team of the Autumn Nations Series revealed

1st Dec 2022