Jump to main content
Lawes ruled out but Farrell included as England name squad

Lawes ruled out but Farrell included as England name squad

Courtney Lawes England

England captain Courtney Lawes will miss their Autumn Nations Series opener against Argentina on Sunday – but fly-half Owen Farrell is included in the 36-man squad.

Lawes is still experiencing symptoms after he suffered a head injury in September and won’t be risked against Los Pumas at Twickenham.

Farrell, who captained England between the 2018 Autumn Internationals and 2022 Guinness Six Nations, could wear the armband after returning from concussion.

The 31-year-old has not yet been cleared and must go through the latter stages of the return-to-play protocol but his inclusion is a promising development for head coach Eddie Jones.

Experienced winger Jonny May is a surprise inclusion after it appeared he would miss time with an elbow injury, while hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie is also named despite a recent knee injury.

England will announce their matchday 23 on Friday for what will be their first of four Autumn Nations Series matches.

They also host Japan, New Zealand and South Africa this month, as they look to replicate their unbeaten campaign from a year ago.


Google Ad – 300×250

Forwards: Alex Coles (Northampton Saints), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons), Tom Pearson (London Irish), Val Rapava Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby), David Ribbans (Northampton Saints), Sean Robinson (Newcastle Falcons), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears), Jack Singleton (Gloucester Rugby) Hugh Tizard (Saracens), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Jack Willis (unattached).

Backs: Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Furbank (Northampton Saints), Will Joseph (London Irish), Max Malins (Saracens), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Cadan Murley (Harlequins), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers), Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers), Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks), Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Previous Story Stat Attack: the best stats from Round 1
Next Story Referee appointments for Autumn Nations Series Week 2

More News

Try of the Series

Vote for the Autumn Nations Series Try of the Series

1 day ago
Smart ball insights autumn

Smart Ball insights from the Autumn Nations Series

1 day ago
Lawes ruled out but Farrell included as England name squad

Team of the Autumn Nations Series revealed

2 days ago