Jump to main content
Toomaga-Allen and Paia’aua in Samoa squad for Autumn Nations Series

Toomaga-Allen and Paia’aua in Samoa squad for Autumn Nations Series

2019 Rugby World Cup Pool A, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka City 12/10/2019 Ireland vs Samoa The Samoa team huddle before the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Jayne Russell

Former All Black Jeff Toomaga-Allen and New Zealand-born back Duncan Paia’aua have been called up to Seilala Mapusua’s Manu Samoa squad for the Autumn Nations Series.

Toomaga-Allen made his only appearance for New Zealand against Japan in 2013 while Toulon centre Paia’aua was called up by Australia in 2021 without featuring.

Pai’aua was a surprise inclusion in Dave Rennie’s squad for the Bledisloe Cup as versatile cover, after failing to persuade Michael Cheika to call him up previously.

And this is the second move former Wasps prop Toomaga-Allen has made this year, after heading to Ulster in the summer.

Both New Zealand-born forwards are eligible to represent Samoa through family heritage and can make the switch since they haven’t made international appearances for 36 months under World Rugby rules.

The pair could make their senior Samoa debut against Italy on 5 November, before the Pacific side take on Georgia on 12 November and Romania on 19 November.

Google Ad – 300×250

Lock Brian Alainu’uese and loose forward Tala Gray could also earn their first cap for Mapusua’s side.

Saracens star Theo MacFarland and Waratahs’ new signing Taleni Seu headline a strong squad that defeated Fiji, Tonga and Australia A over the summer.

MacFarland has been in tremendous form for his domestic club this year, named Gallagher Premiership Player of the Month with the London side yet to drop a point so far.

La Rochelle’s Ulupano Seuteni is also welcomed back to the fold after not featuring for Manu Samoa since 2019.

Backs: Tomasi Alosio, Des Sepulona, Tumua Manu, Joe Perez, Duncan Paia’aua, Alapati Leiua, Nigel Ah Wong, Danny Toala, Stacey Ili, Ulupano Seuteni, Rodney Iona, D’Angelo Leuila, Ere Enari, Jonathan Taumateine.

Forwards: Fritz Lee, Talalelei Gray, Afaesetiti Amosa, Jordan Taufua, Taleni Seu, Theo McFarland, Brian Alainu’uese, Chris Vui, Michael Ala’alatoa, Jeff Toomaga-Allen, Donald Brighouse, Nephi Leatigaga, Jordan Lay, Seilala Lam, Manu Leiataua, Luteru Toloi.


Previous Story Projected Starters Series: Australia
Next Story Refereeing appointments announced for 2022 Autumn Nations Series

More News

Try of the Series

Vote for the Autumn Nations Series Try of the Series

2nd Dec 2022
Smart ball insights autumn

Smart Ball insights from the Autumn Nations Series

2nd Dec 2022
Toomaga-Allen and Paia’aua in Samoa squad for Autumn Nations Series

Team of the Autumn Nations Series revealed

1st Dec 2022