Jump to main content
Henshaw returns for Ireland as Argentina make three changes

Henshaw returns for Ireland as Argentina make three changes

Robbie Henshaw

Robbie Henshaw returns to the Ireland starting line-up for their final game of the Autumn Nations Series as Andy Farrell’s men welcome Argentina to Dublin on Sunday.

The 28-year-old centre has recovered from the foot injury he sustained in pre-season and comes into the midfield alongside Garry Ringrose for the clash at the Aviva Stadium.

Five must-have forwards for Fantasy Autumn Nations Series

Elsewhere, Farrell has largely resisted the urge to change the team that stunned the All Blacks last weekend, winning 29-20 to secure Ireland’s third win in five Tests against New Zealand.

With Johnny Sexton unavailable due to injury, James Ryan assumes the captaincy and is partnered in second row by Iain Henderson.

The front row of Andrew Porter, Ronan Kelleher and Tadgh Furlong is retained as is the backrow of Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan.

A new half-back pairing of Conor Murray and Joey Carbery is introduced while Hugo Keenan gets another opportunity to impress in the No.15 jersey.

The Argentina team stand for the national anthem

Google Ad – 300×250

James Lowe starts his third consecutive game for Ireland and Robert Baloucoune, who made his Ireland debut against the USA in July scoring a scintillating try, gets his second start.

Dan Sheehan, who won his first cap against Japan earlier this month, and Tom O’Toole, who was capped against USA in July, are named as front row cover alongside Cian Healy.

Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony, Craig Casey, Harry Byrne and Keith Earls complete the 23.

Meanwhile, Los Pumas have made three personnel changes and a couple of positional switches to the team that defeated Italy last time out, with lock Guido Petti coming into the second row.

Santiago Grondona also starts in the back row, with Marcos Kremer and Pablo Matera switching to openside flanker and No.8, respectively, as Juan Martin Gonzalez and Facundo Isa drop out.

There is also a change to the backline that started the 37-16 win in Treviso as Lucio Cinti starts on the left wing and Mateo Carreras moves to the right wing, replacing Santiago Cordero.

Ireland: 15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster, 15 caps), 14. Robert Baloucoune (Ulster, 1 cap), 13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster, 35 caps), 12. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster, 52 caps), 11. James Lowe (Leinster, 8 caps), 10. Joey Carbery (Munster, 26 caps), 9. Conor Murray (Munster, 91 caps); 1. Andrew Porter (Leinster, 39 caps), 2. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster, 15 caps), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster, 51 caps), 4. Iain Henderson (Ulster, 65 caps), 5. James Ryan (Leinster, 39 caps) CAPTAIN, 6. Caelan Doris (Leinster, 11 caps), 7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster, 34 caps), 8. Jack Conan (Leinster, 22 caps)

Replacements: 16. Dan Sheehan (Leinster, 1 cap), 17. Cian Healy (Leinster, 111 caps), 18. Tom O’Toole (Ulster, 1 cap), 19. Tadhg Beirne (Munster, 24 caps), 20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster, 78 caps), 21. Craig Casey (Munster, 3 caps), 22. Harry Byrne (Leinster, 1 cap), 23. Keith Earls (Munster, 95 caps)

Argentina: 15. Emiliano Boffelli, 14. Mateo Carreras, 13. Matías Moroni, 12. Jerónimo De La Fuente, 11. Lucio Cinti, 10. Santiago Carreras, 9. Tomás Cubelli; 1. Thomas Gallo, 2. Julián Montoya (captain), 3. Francisco Gomez Kodela, 4. Guido Petti, 5. Tomás Lavanini, 7. Marcos Kremer, 8. Pablo Matera

Replacements: 16. Facundo Bosch, 17. Ignacio Calles, 18. Eduardo Bello, 19. Lucas Paulos, 20. Isa Facundo, 21. Gonzalo Bertranou, 22. Nicolás Sanchez, 23. Facundo Lamb

Previous Story Five memorable England v South Africa games
Next Story Five must-have backs for the final week of Fantasy Autumn Nations Series

More News

Henshaw returns for Ireland as Argentina make three changes

Super Springboks and awesome Australia star in Rugby Championship

2 days ago
Henshaw returns for Ireland as Argentina make three changes

Southern Hemisphere giants gear up for Rugby Championship return

4th Aug 2022
Ardie Savea summer

Standout players from the summer who have stepped up ahead...

19th Jul 2022