Jump to main content
Farrell and George ruled out of Springboks showdown

Farrell and George ruled out of Springboks showdown

Owen Farrell takes a kick

England will be without Owen Farrell and Jamie George for their Autumn Nations Series finale against South Africa.

Eddie Jones confirmed his 34-player squad on Monday for this weekend’s repeat of the 2019 Rugby World Cup final, which ended in a 32-12 defeat for England in Japan.

But the hosts will have to make do without Farrell (ankle) and George (knee), who have withdrawn from the squad with injuries sustained during England’s 32-15 win over Australia on Saturday.

Gloucester Rugby’s Harry Elrington and Jack Singleton have been called up and have joined with the group today at Pennyhill Park.

Joe Marler will join with the squad on Friday after completing his 10-day isolation period following his positive COVID test result.

England take on world champions South Africa on Saturday 20 November (3.15pm KO).



Google Ad – 300×250

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 4 caps)
Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 35 caps)
Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)
Nic Dolly (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 3 caps)
Harry Elrington (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 25 caps)
Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 11 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 50 caps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 89 caps)
Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 10 caps)
Joe Marler (Harlequins, 73 caps)
George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 1 cap)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 8 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 46 caps)
Jack Singleton (Gloucester Rugby, 3 caps)
Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)


Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)
Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
Max Malins (Saracens, 9 caps)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 6 caps)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 68 caps)
Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks, 1 cap)
Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 42 caps)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 4 caps)
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 4 caps)
Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 45 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 111 caps)


Previous Story Best of social: England defeat Australia at Twickenham   
Next Story What the pundits said: Ireland statement, Rees-Zammit brilliance and solid Steward

More News

Farrell and George ruled out of Springboks showdown

Super Springboks and awesome Australia star in Rugby Championship

2 days ago
Farrell and George ruled out of Springboks showdown

Southern Hemisphere giants gear up for Rugby Championship return

4th Aug 2022
Ardie Savea summer

Standout players from the summer who have stepped up ahead...

19th Jul 2022