Jump to main content
South Africa name team to face Scotland

South Africa name team to face Scotland

South Africa Jantjies

South Africa have named their side to take on Scotland at BT Murrayfield this weekend, with head coach Jacques Nienaber making three changes to the side that bested Wales 23-16 last time out.

Elton Jantjies and Willie le Roux are named in the starting line up while Franco Mostert is named at lock, with Handre Pollard and Lood de Jager dropping to the bench.

Le Roux’s inclusion in the starting line-up comes as a result of Damian Willemse being in the concussion protocol following a knock to the head last weekend.

Mostert’s start against the Scots will also see him win his 50th Test cap for the Springboks, a feat that Jesse Kriel will also reach in Edinburgh this weekend.

Alongside the dual 50 Test cap achievement, replacement Frans Steyn could become the longest tenured Springbok ever should he take the field, becoming the first South African to play Test rugby for over 15 calendar years.

At 34, he will overtake Springbok legend Victor Matfield’s record, having made his international debut in 2007.

The rest of the team remains unchanged from the win over Wales in round two of the Autumn Nations Series.

Ox Nché and Trevor Nyakane pack down either side of hooker Bongi Mbonambi while Mostert is joined in the second row by enforcer Eben Etzebeth.

Captain Siya Kolsi starts at blindside flanker with Kwagga Smith and Duane Vermeulen taking the openside and No.8 spots respectively.

In the backs, scrum-half Herschel Jantjies partners namesake Elton to form the half-back pairing, while Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am make up a frightening combination in the centres.

And in the back three, full-back Le Roux and winger Kriel are joined by the electric Makazole Mapimpi, rounding out an impressive starting XV for the defending world champions.

Nienaber said: “Scotland will be a force to be reckoned with at Murrayfield, so it was important for us to maintain continuity within our squad, while at the same time celebrating Jesse and Franco’s 50th caps and giving Elton a chance to start.

“Elton has been training very well since the squad assembled before the Castle Lager Lions Series and he’s performed well every time he earned a run, so we thought it was the right time to hand him a start.

“It will be a special day for Jesse and Franco as they run out for their 50th Tests at Murrayfield. They are both fantastic servants of the game and their high work ethic and true team attitude make them vital members of our squad, and we are all delighted to see them achieve this feat.”

Springbok team to face Scotland: 15. Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz), 14. Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), 13. Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks), 12. Damian de Allende (Munster), 11. Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks), 10. Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes), 9. Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers); 1. Ox Nché (Cell C Sharks), 2. Bongi Mbonambi (Cell C Sharks), 3. Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls), 4. Eben Etzebeth (Toulon), 5. Franco Mostert (Honda Heat), 6. Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks), 7. Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo), 8. Duane Vermeulen (Ulster)

Replacements: 16. Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears),17 – Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers), 18 Vincent Koch (Saracens), 19. Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks), 20. Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers), 21. Cobus Reinach (Montpellier), 22. Handré Pollard (Montpellier), 23. Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs)

Previous Story When are this week’s Autumn Nations Series team announcements
Next Story Autumn Nations Series: Five key talking points from Week 2

More News

Dave Rennie with Len Ikitau

Rennie announces Australia’s 35-man squad for Springbok Tests

7 hours ago
Thomas Gallo Rugby Championship

Six must-have players in the Autumn Nations Series Fantasy Rugby

9 hours ago
South Africa name team to face Scotland

Schmidt named New Zealand attack coach

2 days ago