Jump to main content
Tonga name side to face Scotland

Tonga name side to face Scotland

Tonga name side to face Scotland

Tonga have named their squad to take on Scotland in the opening match of the Autumn Nations Series on Saturday.

The side contains eight debutants, six of whom are set to start, as Tonga look to repeat their historic victory over Scotland in 2012, when they emerged from Aberdeen with a 21-15 success.

A famous face to European viewers is Sonatane Takulua, formerly of Newcastle Falcons and now of Toulon, the scrum-half will captain the Ikale Tahi at BT Murrayfield.

He is joined by experienced fly-half Kurt Morath, who currently plies his trade in America in Major League Rugby for the Austin Gilgronis.

Morath is Tonga’s top points scorer with 340 points, and he is set to celebrate his 37th birthday this November.

Elsewhere in the side, Hyères prop and GPS hooker Maile Ngauamo are set to make their international debuts.

They are joined by Mateaki Kafatolu, Grenoble’s Tanginoa Halaifonua, Pau’s Vaea Vaea and Stade Français’ Atunaisa Manu in making their Tonga bow.

Grenoble prop Toma Taufa and Navarre Haisila are also set to make their Tonga debut off the bench.

Google Ad – 300×250

The squad are gearing up for their first match since the heavy defeat to New Zealand in the summer, having last faced European opposition two years ago at the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

The match will be in front of a packed BT Murrayfield, where Tonga have not played since 2001, where they were defeated 43-20 by their opponents on Saturday.

This is the first of four matches for Tonga this Autumn, with the Pacific Islanders facing England at Twickenham in a week’s time, before facing Romania and France Barbarians.

Tonga team to face Scotland:  

15. James Faiva, 14. Atunaisa Manu, 13. Malietoa Hingano, 12. Vaea Vaea, 11. Walter Fifita, 10. Kurt Morath, 9. Sonatane Takulua ©; 1. Loni Uhila, 2. Maile Ngauamo, 3. David Lolohea, 4. Halaleva Fifita, 5. Setefano Funaki, 6. Tanginoa Halaifonua, 7. Fotu Lokotui, 8. Valentino Mapapalangi

16. Suia Maile, 17. Jethro Felemi, 18. Toma Taufa, 19. Dan Faleafa, 20. Onehunga Havili, 21. Mateaki Kafatolu, 22. Aisea Halo, 23. Navarre Haisila


Previous Story Springboks must kick on from All Blacks triumph – Habana
Next Story Anscombe starts as Wales name team to face New Zealand

More News

Tonga name side to face Scotland

Schmidt named New Zealand attack coach

20 hours ago
Thomas Gallo Rugby Championship

Talking points as New Zealand and Argentina bounce back in...

14th Aug 2022
Tonga name side to face Scotland

Storming South Africa look to compound All Blacks’ misery in...

11th Aug 2022