Jump to main content
South Africa name squad for Autumn Nations Series

South Africa name squad for Autumn Nations Series

Eben Etzebeth and Cheslin Kolbe celebrate at the full-time whistle

South Africa have named a 32-man squad for the upcoming Autumn Nations Series.

The Springboks have selected largely the same squad which defeated The British & Irish Lions before overcoming New Zealand in the Rugby Championship, as they tour Europe for the first time as world champions.

Jacques Nienaber has selected two uncapped players, former Junior Springbok captain Salmaan Moerat and scrum-half Grant Williams.

One to watch: South Africa’s Aphelele Fassi

South Africa are preparing for their first tour to Europe since 2018, and since then have risen from a promising team to world champions and Lions Series winners, making them a real team to beat.

Siya Kolisi with Handre Pollard

The Springboks face Wales in Cardiff on 6 November first up, before travelling to BT Murrayfield to take on Scotland and then to Twickenham to face the side they beat in the Rugby World Cup final for the first time since that game in Tokyo.

Nienaber said: “This tour is going to be exciting yet challenging.”

Google Ad – 300×250

“The core group of players who played a key role in the series against the British & Irish Lions, as well as the Castle Lager Rugby Championship will remain together as we build consistency and continuity in our squad with an eye on the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

“We had to travel to Australia with an expanded squad due the strict COVID-19 protocols in the country, but with the easing of travel restrictions to Europe and the UK, we were able to revert to a more manageable touring squad.

“We are two years out from the Rugby World Cup in France, and we have close to 20 Test matches before we start our defence of the title, so every match will count in terms of building confidence and consistency as a group.”

Before heading to Wales for their Autumn Nations Series opener, South Africa will travel to France for a one-week training camp.

South Africa squad:


Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks) – 13 caps, Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers) – 56 caps, Vincent Koch (Saracens) – 28 caps, Ox Nché (Cell C Sharks) – 6 caps, Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls) – 51 caps, Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux Bègles) – 1 cap, Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) – 43 caps, Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers) – 45 caps, Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks) – 53 caps,

Eben Etzebeth (Toulon) – 94 caps, Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers) – Uncapped, Marvin Orie (DHL Stormers) – 7 caps,  Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks) – 60 caps, Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo) – 16 caps, Marco van Staden (Leicester Tigers) – 9 caps,  Duane Vermeulen (Ulster) – 58 caps, Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers) – 8 caps, Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) – 48 caps.


Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers) – 18 caps,  Cobus Reinach (Montpellier) – 18 caps, Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks) – uncapped, Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes) – 41 caps, Handré Pollard (Montpellier) – 57 caps, Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks) – 23 caps, Damian de Allende (Munster) – 55 caps, Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles) – 48 caps, Aphelele Fassi (Cell C Sharks) – 2 caps, Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz) – 70 caps, Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks) – 22 caps, Sbu Nkosi (Cell C Sharks) – 25 caps,  Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) – 14 caps, Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs) – 71 caps.

Previous Story One to watch: Len Ikitau
Next Story Fiji announce Autumn Nation Series squad

More News

South Africa name squad for Autumn Nations Series

Super Springboks and awesome Australia star in Rugby Championship

1 day ago
South Africa name squad for Autumn Nations Series

Southern Hemisphere giants gear up for Rugby Championship return

4th Aug 2022
Ardie Savea summer

Standout players from the summer who have stepped up ahead...

19th Jul 2022