Jump to main content
Uncapped Daly called up as Farrell rings the changes

Uncapped Daly called up as Farrell rings the changes

Uncapped Daly called up as Farrell rings the changes

Shane Daly could make his first international appearance after being named on the bench in a much-changed Ireland squad to take on Georgia in Round 3 of the Autumn Nations Cup.

Munster centre Daly is the only uncapped player named in a 23-man squad which features nine changes from the starting line-up which suffered defeat to England at Twickenham in Round 2.

James Ryan will once again captain Andy Farrellโ€™s team with Billy Burns set to make his first start at fly-half, having won his two caps off the bench.

He is joined by the vastly experienced Conor Murray, who will win his 86th cap at scrum-half, while Stuart McCloskey will make his fourth Ireland appearance when he starts alongside Chris Farrell.

Jacob Stockdale returns at full-back with Hugo Keenan shifting to the wing alongside Keith Earls on the opposite flank.

There are two changes in the front row where Finlay Bealham and Rob Herring come in for Cian Healy and Ronan Kelleher respectively to partner Andrew Porter.

Iain Henderson joins captain Ryan in the second row while Tadhg Beirne is selected on the blindside flank, Will Connors at openside and CJ Stander reverts to No.8.

Daly is joined on the bench by backline cover in the form of Kieran Marmion and Ross Byrne and forward replacements Dave Heffernan, Healy, John Ryan, Quinn Roux and Peter Oโ€™Mahony.

Ireland team to face Georgia:

15. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster) 31 caps

14. Hugo Keenan (Leinster) 4 caps

13. Chris Farrell (Munster) 12 caps

12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster) 3 caps

11. Keith Earls (Munster) 86 caps

10. Billy Burns (UIster) 2 caps

9. Conor Murray (Munster) 85 caps

1. Finlay Bealham (Connacht) 13 caps

2. Rob Herring (Ulster) 14 caps

3. Andrew Porter (Leinster) 30 caps

4. Iain Henderson (Ulster) 56 caps

5. James Ryan (Leinster) 30 caps – CAPTAIN

6. Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 16 caps

7. Will Connors (Leinster) 4 caps

8. CJ Stander (Munster) 44 caps


16. Dave Heffernan (Connacht) 4 caps

17. Cian Healy (Leinster) 102 caps

18. John Ryan (Munster) 21 caps

19. Quinn Roux (Connacht) 14 caps

20. Peter Oโ€™Mahony (Munster) 71 caps

21. Kieran Marmion (Connacht) 27 caps

22. Ross Byrne (Leinster) 9 caps

23. Shane Daly (Munster) uncapped

Previous Story Jones returns to captain Wales against England
Next Story Italy make three changes to face France in Paris

More News

Uncapped Daly called up as Farrell rings the changes

Super Springboks and awesome Australia star in Rugby Championship

2 days ago
Uncapped Daly called up as Farrell rings the changes

Southern Hemisphere giants gear up for Rugby Championship return

4th Aug 2022
Ardie Savea summer

Standout players from the summer who have stepped up ahead...

19th Jul 2022